Locked History Actions

ArgosReporting

Argos Reporting

What is Argos Reporting?

  • Argos Reporting is the one-stop, complete reporting tool of choice for Oakland University Banner users.
  • Banner data is accessible from Argos Reporting (real-time). Additionally, functions, tables and views can be used in Argos objects.
  • Whether you need ad-hoc and on-going reporting, Argos provides the user community with current, real time data. Data can be presented in various types of charts/graphs, mini text boxes or cubes. Dashboards with multiple selection criteria allow unlimited filtering and flexibility. Additionally, Argos can present the data/output in letter, printed, CSV, delimited and pdf format.
  • Entire teams can access Argos Dashboards to view their teams's data. Argos provides consistant, stable reporting at the users' request. Changes to DataBlocks and Dashboards do require UTS promotion to production. For continuously changing reports another reporting tool may fit better.

  • Argos uses a GUI based Developer Tool that makes it easy to design and develop queries. A DataBlock Designer will create a DataBlock and Dashboard for Report Writers and Viewers to use.

  • A default Data Dictionary, provided by Evisions, has been loaded for use. As new ADO Connections are added, they must be added to the Data Dictionary to be used. The Argos Core Reporting Team will evaluate the Evisions Data Dictionary and modify as needed in the future.

Argos Core Reporting Group Owners

Below is a list of the Argos Core Reporting Groups and DataBlock Designers.

If a user or group has questions regarding Argos, please feel free to reach out to the related Group Owner or DataBlock Designer.

  • Group Owner: approves users access to the Group Folder and associated DataBlocks and Dashboards.

  • DataBlock Designer: creates DataBlocks, and Dashboards with charts, cubes and various filtering criteria.

  • Report Writer: creates reports based on DataBlocks

  • Report Viewer: runs reports and views Dashboards

Argos Core Reporting - Group Owners and DataBlock Designers

FOLDER

SUB-FOLDER

OWNER

SECONDARY

ADO CONNECTION

DATABLOCK DESIGNER

OU_Accounts_Receivable

Linda Switzer ( switzer@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_AR

Robert Bonam ( bonam@oakand.edu )

OU_Admissions

Dawn Marie Aubry ( dmaubry@oakland.edu )

Steven Szalay ( szalay@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_ADMISS

Steven Szalay ( szalay@oakland.edu )

OU_Advancement

Lauren Hwa Young Jeske ( lhjeske@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_ADVNCMNT

TBD ( tbd@oakland.edu )

OU_Budget

Michele Knox ( knox2@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_BUDGET

Matt Boltz ( boltz@oakland.edu )

OU_Finance_Admin

Thomas LeMarbe ( lemarbe@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINADMIN

Stephen Sklar ( sklar@oakland.edu )

OU_Finance

Gerri Ann Reimann ( reimann@oakland.edu )

James Hargett ( hargett@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINANCE

Chris Bowles ( cmbowles@oakland.edu )

OU_Finance

OU_Accounting

Gerri Ann Reimann ( reimann@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINANCE

Chris Bowles ( cmbowles@oakland.edu )

OU_Finance

OU_Accounts_Payable

Bryan Atkinson ( atkinson@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINANCE

Chris Bowles ( cmbowles@oakland.edu )

OU_Finance

OU_Asst_VP_Controller

Gerri Ann Reimann ( reimann@oakland.edu )

James Hargett ( hargett@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINANCE

Chris Bowles ( cmbowles@oakland.edu )

OU_Finance

OU_Payroll

George Leaver ( gleaver@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINANCE

Chris Bowles ( cmbowles@oakland.edu )

OU_Financial_Aid

Cindy Hermsen ( hermsen@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FINAID

Brian Long ( bmlong@oakland.edu )

OU_First_Year_Advising_Center

Sara Webb ( crampton@oakland.edu )

William Johnson ( johnson@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_FYAC

William Johnson ( johnson@oakland.edu )

OU_Human_Resources

Ron Watson ( rwatson@oakland.edu )

Kevin Venet ( kevinvenet@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_HR

Penny Stilwell ( stilwell@oakland.edu )

OU_Human_Resources

OU_Academic_HR

Michelle Piskulich ( piskulic@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_HR

Penny Stilwell ( stilwell@oakland.edu )

OU_Human_Resources

OU_University_HR

Ron Watson ( rwatson@oakland.edu )

Kevin Venet ( kevinvenet@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_HR

Stephen Sklar ( sklar@oakland.edu )

OU_Institutional Research

Laura Schartman ( schartma@oakland.edu )

Reuben Ternes ( ternes@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_IR

Reuben Ternes ( ternes@oakland.edu )

OU_International_Students_and Scholars

David Archbold ( archbold@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_INTRNLSS

Penny Stilwell ( stilwell@oakland.edu )

OU_Registrar

Steve Shablin ( shablin@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_STUDREC

Joshua Stotts ( jastotts@oakland.edu )

OU_Research

Academic Unit's Faculty members email

ARGOS_RESEARCH

Penny Stilwell ( stilwell@oakland.edu )

OU_Student_Affairs

Glenn McIntosh ( mcintosh@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_STUDAFF

Leonardo Debiaggi ( ledebiag@oakland.edu )

OU_UTS_University_Technology_Services

Theresa Rowe ( rowe@oakland.edu )

Lori Tirpak ( tirpak@oakland.edu )

ARGOS_UTS

Michael Cox ( cox@oakland.edu )

Argos Reporting User Group Meetings

The Argos Core Reporting Group meets monthly to demo DataBlocks and Dashboards, address issues and discuss enhancements.

Please contact one of the Argos Core Reporting DataBlock Designers in the table above to find out when and where the next meeting is being held.

Available Training

Note:

  1. Recommendations for SkillSoft Training - Intro to PL/SQL or Intro to 11g/12c.

  2. An Evisions/Argos Account/ID is NOT needed to view or take the above training.
  3. Access to the Argos application (DataBlock Designer, Report Writer or Report Viewer) is NOT needed to view or take the above training.

Access Requirements & Guidelines

  • Argos Connection ID: Steps for requesting the creation an Argos ADO Connection ID. Also instructions for generating list of Roles, Grant statements and Request to Data Stewards.
    /ArgosConnectionId

  • Argos Access and Security: Requirements for getting access to Argos Reporting (Report Viewer, Report Writer and DataBlock Designer).
    /ArgosAccess

  • SQL Developer Export Acceptance: Legal requires that we track users that have downloaded SQL Developer.
    /ArgosSqlDevAccept

How-To Pages

  • Argos Help: Help with the Argos Reporting Tool.
    /ArgosHelp

  • SQL Developer Setup: Help with setting up SQL Developer.
    /ArgosSqlDev

Technical Standards and Procedures

  • Querying tables with SSN: Instructions on querying against Banner Views without SSN.
    /ArgosSsnInfo

  • Coding Standards: Standards for Data Block and Report Writers.
    /ArgosCodingStandards

  • Naming Conventions: Standards for naming variables and objects.
    /ArgosNamingConventions

  • Request Production Promotion: Instructions for requesting a promotion of Argos objects to Production.
    /ArgosPromotionRequest

Administration Procedures